Skip to main content
Live Updates

Live Updates: Attacks in Red Sea, Israel as Gaza death toll passes 24,000

Gaza City was hit with more airstrikes on Monday as Gaza authorities say the death toll has passed 24,000.
This picture taken from the Israeli border with the Gaza Strip shows smoke billowing over Gaza City following Israeli strikes on Jan. 1, 2024, amid the ongoing battles between Israel and the militant Hamas group.
Last Updated: 1 month 1 week ago

Editor's note: This blog ended Jan. 16, 2024. Please visit our archives via the links below and follow along for the latest coverage of the Gaza war on our Israel and Palestine pages.

The 100-day mark for the Gaza war saw an increasingly dire humanitarian situation, with the death toll surpassing 24,000 and a new escalation in the Red Sea region.

As the Israeli military hit Gaza City with more airstrikes and ground operations continued in the enclave’s south, the Hamas-run Health Ministry said Monday that 132 bodies of those killed in the bombardment had arrived at hospitals over the past 24 hours. The ministry said the death toll 100 days in stands at 24,100, with over 60,000 others injured.

Just three days after the United States and the United Kingdom launched strikes against Yemen’s Houthis, US Central Command reported an attack on an American ship in the Red Sea. CENTCOM said that a container ship owned and operated by the United States was hit by an anti-ship ballistic missile fired by the Houthis from Yemen on Monday afternoon.

“On Jan. 15 at approximately 4 p.m., Iranian-backed Houthi militants fired an anti-ship ballistic missile from Houthi-controlled areas of Yemen and struck the M/V Gibraltar Eagle, a Marshall Islands-flagged, US-owned and operated container ship. The ship has reported no injuries or significant damage and is continuing its journey,” CENTCOM said in a post on X.

Meanwhile, a stabbing and vehicular attack were reported near Tel Aviv on Monday, leaving one person dead and at least 17 people wounded.

A 79-year-old woman was killed after three vehicular and stabbing attacks in the central Israeli city of Ra'anana.

According to Israeli police, Mahmoud Zidat, “an illegal worker from the Palestinian town of Bani Na'im in the West Bank, was arrested after ramming civilians with three different vehicles,” Haaretz reported.

Ezgi Akin, Beatrice Farhat, Rina Bassist, Elizabeth Hagedorn, Adam Lucente, Jack Dutton, Jared Szuba and Al-Monitor’s contributors on the ground in Gaza, the West Bank and Israel contributed to this blog.


Live updates (all times EST):

Monday, Jan. 15, 2024

9:26 am: Mass Israeli rally demands Netanyahu bring hostages home

Or Sela is a relative of Tal Shoham, who is still held hostage in Gaza. "100 days after Oct. 7, I’m calling on Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu to say again what he had told us, the families of the hostages, only once: that bringing them home tops everything else," he told Al-Monitor. He believes no deal to release the hostages will be reached until Netanyahu puts bringing them home before the ground operation in Gaza. Rina Bassist reports.

8:54 am: Humanitarian crisis worsens as death toll surpasses 24,000

The war in the Gaza Strip has entered its 100th day with no signs of abating as the Israeli bombardment from the air, sea and ground rages on.

At least 132 people have been killed in Israeli strikes across Gaza in the past 24 hours, bringing the total death toll since the war erupted in October to 24,100, mostly women and children, according to the Hamas-run Health Ministry in the enclave. Beatrice Farhat reports.

5:39 am: Hamas officials say Gaza war deaths top 24,000

Health officials in Hamas-run Gaza reported on Monday more than 24,000 deaths in the war with Israel that has rocked the region, and militants released a video announcing the death of two Israeli hostages. Read the full story here.

3:26 am: Palestinian churches, mosques decimated by Israeli strikes 

The Great Omari Mosque, Gaza’s largest and oldest, was destroyed in an Israeli airstrike last month in the Hamas-Israel war that began Oct. 7.

Hundreds of heritage sites have been destroyed or damaged since Israel launched its air, sea and ground campaign on the Gaza Strip. Rasha Abou Jalal reports.


For our previous live coverage, see:

Day 100 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Sunday, Jan. 14

Day 99 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Saturday, Jan. 13

Day 98 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Friday, Jan. 12

Day 97 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Thursday, Jan. 11

Day 96 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Wednesday, Jan. 10

Day 95 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Tuesday, Jan. 9

Day 94 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Monday, Jan. 8

Day 93 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Sunday, Jan. 7

Day 92 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Saturday, Jan. 6

Day 91 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Friday, Jan. 5

Day 90 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Thursday, Jan. 4

Day 89 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Wednesday, Jan. 3

Day 88 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Tuesday, Jan. 2

Day 87 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Monday, Jan. 1

Day 86 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Sunday, Dec. 31

Day 85 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Saturday, Dec. 30

Day 84 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Friday, Dec. 29

Day 83 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Thursday, Dec. 28

Day 82 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Wednesday, Dec. 27

Day 81 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Tuesday, Dec. 26

Day 80 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Monday, Dec. 25

Day 79 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Sunday, Dec. 24

Day 78 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Saturday, Dec. 23

Day 77 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Friday, Dec. 22

Day 76 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Thursday, Dec. 21

Day 75 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Wednesday, Dec. 20

Day 74 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Tuesday, Dec. 19

Day 73 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Monday, Dec. 18

Day 72 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Sunday, Dec. 17

Day 71 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Saturday, Dec. 16

Day 70 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Friday, Dec. 15

Day 69 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Thursday, Dec. 14

Day 68 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Wednesday, Dec. 13

Day 67 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Tuesday, Dec. 12

Day 66 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Monday, Dec. 11

Day 65 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Sunday, Dec. 10

Day 64 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Saturday, Dec. 9

Day 63 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Friday, Dec. 8

Day 62 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Thursday, Dec. 7

Day 61 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Wednesday, Dec. 6

Day 60 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Tuesday, Dec. 5

Day 59 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Monday, Dec. 4

Day 58 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Sunday, Dec. 3

Day 57 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Saturday, Dec. 2

Day 56 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Friday, Dec. 1

Day 55 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Thursday, Nov. 30

Day 54 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Wednesday, Nov. 29

Day 53 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Tuesday, Nov. 28

Day 52 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Monday, Nov. 27

Day 51 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Sunday, Nov. 26

Day 50 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Saturday, Nov. 25

Day 49 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Friday, Nov. 24

Day 48 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Thursday, Nov. 23

Day 47 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Wednesday, Nov. 22

Day 46 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Tuesday, Nov. 21

Day 45 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Monday, Nov. 20

Day 44 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Sunday, Nov. 19

Day 43 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Saturday, Nov. 18

Day 42 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Friday, Nov. 17

Day 41 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Thursday, Nov. 16

Day 40 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Wednesday, Nov. 15

Day 39 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Tuesday, Nov. 14

Day 38 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Monday, Nov. 13

Day 37 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Sunday, Nov. 12

Day 36 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Saturday, Nov. 11

Day 35 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Friday, Nov. 10

Day 34 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Thursday, Nov. 9

Day 33 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Wednesday, Nov. 8

Day 32 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Tuesday, Nov. 7

Day 31 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Monday, Nov. 6

Day 30 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Sunday, Nov. 5

Day 29 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Saturday, Nov. 4

Day 28 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Friday, Nov. 3

Day 27 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Thursday, Nov. 2

Day 26 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Wednesday, Nov. 1

Day 25 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Tuesday, Oct. 31

Day 24 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Monday, Oct. 30

Day 23 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Sunday, Oct. 29

Day 22 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Saturday, Oct. 28

Day 21 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Friday, Oct. 27

Day 20 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Thursday, Oct. 26

Day 19 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Wednesday, Oct. 25

Day 18 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Tuesday, Oct. 24

Day 17 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Monday, Oct. 23

Day 16 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Sunday, Oct. 22

Day 15 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Saturday, Oct. 21

Day 14 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Friday, Oct. 20

Day 13 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Thursday, Oct. 19

Day 12 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Wednesday, Oct. 18

Day 11 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Tuesday, Oct. 17

Day 10 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Monday, Oct. 16

Day 9 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Sunday, Oct. 15

Day 8 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Saturday, Oct. 14

Day 7 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Friday, Oct. 13

Day 6 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Thursday, Oct. 12

Day 5 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Wednesday, Oct. 11

Day 4 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Tuesday, Oct. 10

Day 3 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Monday, Oct. 9

Day 2 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Sunday, Oct. 8

Day 1 of Hamas-Israel war blog: Saturday, Oct. 7