Skip to main content

Netanyahu era ends as Naftali Bennett sworn-in as Israel’s new PM

Yamina party leader Naftali Bennett was sworn-in late Sunday as Israel’s 13th prime minister, ending 12 years of Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu rule, and introducing a large new government composed of parties from the right, the center and the left.
(L to R) Israel's outgoing prime minister Benjamin Netanyahu shakes hands with his successor, incoming Prime Minister Naftali Bennett, after a special session to vote on a new government at the Knesset in Jerusalem, on June 13, 2021.

Israel’s 36th government was sworn in Sunday evening, in an historic vote, with Yamina leader Naftali Bennett becoming the country’s new prime minister. The Knesset thus ended Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu’s 12-years in office, following four inconclusive general elections in the past two and a half years. 60 Knesset members voted in favor of the new cabinet, with 59 voting against it, confirming the first-ever government to officially include an Arab party (Ra’am). Ra’am lawmaker Saeed Alharomi abstained from the vote.

Immediately after the vote of confidence, members of Netanyahu’s government vacated the seats on the government table in the parliament’s plenum, with Netanyahu leaving his chair, to be replaced by Bennett.

Following the vote, the cabinet ministers were sworn in, with Bennett going first. Yesh Atid leader Yair Lapid was sworn in second. Lapid was the one to receive the mandate from President Reuven Rivlin a month ago to establish the new government, after Netanyahu was unable to do so. According to the rotation deal with Bennett, Lapid will serve two years as alternate prime minister and as foreign minister, replacing Bennett later on as premier.

The new government includes 28 ministers from Yamina, Yesh Atid, Blue and White, Yisrael Beitenu, Blue and White, Israeli Labor and Meretz. The Islamic party Ra’am is part of the new coalition, but will not hold a ministerial portfolio. Before the vote of confidence in the government, Yesh Atid legislator Mickey Levy was elected to replace Likud’s Yariv Levin as Knesset speaker.

Bennett is Israel’s first religiously observant premier. He is also the leader of the smallest faction ever to be appointed to the position, with only six legislators (a seventh Yamina Knesset member voted against Bennett). At 49, Bennett is the country’s second-youngest prime minister. Netanyahu was just 46 the first time he assumed the role in 1996.

When Bennett started his speech to the plenum introducing his new government, Religious Zionist Party head Bezalel Smotrich and other rightwing parliamentarians shouted, “Shame” at him and waved posters of victims of terrorism. Ushers of the Knesset then removed them from the plenum. Bennett responded by saying, “I am proud that I can sit in a government with people with very different views,” adding that they seemed to have a problem with losing power. Addressing Likud and Religious Zionism members, Bennett added, “The loud tone of the screams is the same as the failure to govern during your term in office.”

Netanyahu had used his final speech as prime minister to criticize the Joe Biden administration’s planned return to the Iran nuclear deal, and said Bennett was incapable of standing up to Washington.

“The administration in Washington asked me not to discuss our disagreement on Iran publicly, but with all due respect, I can’t do that,” Netanyahu said, claiming that Bennett lacks “the international stature, the knowledge, the government or the public’s trust to be taken seriously when fighting the Iranian threat.” 

“An Israeli prime minister has to be able to say no to the president of the US on matters that endanger our existence. I’ll be happy if this doesn’t come true, but from the moment the US returns to the Iran Deal, this government will not approve operations against Iran to stop their armament,” he added.

“I will fight daily against this terrible, dangerous left-wing government in order to topple it,” he concluded.

President Biden congratulated Bennett this evening on forming a new government, saying, "I congratulate Prime Minister Naftali Bennett, Alternate Prime Minister and Foreign Minister Yair Lapid, and all the members of the new Israeli cabinet. I look forward to working with Prime Minister Bennett to strengthen all aspects of the close and enduring relationship between our two nations. Israel has no better friend than the United States." Bennett responded on Twitter, saying: "Thank you Mr. President! I look forward to working with you to strengthen the ties between our two nations."

Join hundreds of Middle East professionals with Al-Monitor PRO.

Business and policy professionals use PRO to monitor the regional economy and improve their reports, memos and presentations. Try it for free and cancel anytime.

Already a Member? Sign in


The Middle East's Best Newsletters

Join over 50,000 readers who access our journalists dedicated newsletters, covering the top political, security, business and tech issues across the region each week.
Delivered straight to your inbox.


What's included:
Our Expertise

Free newsletters available:

  • The Takeaway & Week in Review
  • Middle East Minute (AM)
  • Daily Briefing (PM)
  • Business & Tech Briefing
  • Security Briefing
  • Gulf Briefing
  • Israel Briefing
  • Palestine Briefing
  • Turkey Briefing
  • Iraq Briefing

Premium Membership

Join the Middle East's most notable experts for premium memos, trend reports, live video Q&A, and intimate in-person events, each detailing exclusive insights on business and geopolitical trends shaping the region.

$25.00 / month
billed annually

Become Member Start with 1-week free trial
What's included:
Our Expertise AI-driven

Memos - premium analytical writing: actionable insights on markets and geopolitics.

Live Video Q&A - Hear from our top journalists and regional experts.

Special Events - Intimate in-person events with business & political VIPs.

Trend Reports - Deep dive analysis on market updates.

Text Alerts - Be the first to get breaking news, exclusives, and PRO content.

All premium Industry Newsletters - Monitor the Middle East's most important industries. Prioritize your target industries for weekly review:

  • Capital Markets & Private Equity
  • Venture Capital & Startups
  • Green Energy
  • Supply Chain
  • Sustainable Development
  • Leading Edge Technology
  • Oil & Gas
  • Real Estate & Construction
  • Banking

We also offer team plans. Please send an email to and we'll onboard your team.

Already a Member? Sign in

Start your PRO membership today.

Join the Middle East's top business and policy professionals to access exclusive PRO insights today.

Join Al-Monitor PRO Start with 1-week free trial