Skip to main content

An autopsy of the new Turkish government

The new Turkish government under Prime Minister Binali Yildirim includes and excludes some curious names.

The new Turkish government under Prime Minister Binali Yildirim, the stalwart loyalist to President Recep Tayyip Erdogan, was announced May 24. As expected, the government consists entirely of Erdogan faithful. What is surprising is that some ministers who were predicted to lose their portfolios actually stayed on.

Among those who kept their post is Mehmet Simsek, the deputy prime minister for economic affairs who served as finance minister in Erdogan’s governments. Another is Deputy Prime Minister Lutfi Elvan, who was expected to be penalized because of being close to former Prime Minister Ahmet Davutoglu. Although he is no longer the deputy prime minister, he is a member of the government as Minister of Development.

Access the Middle East news and analysis you can trust

Join our community of Middle East readers to experience all of Al-Monitor, including 24/7 news, analyses, memos, reports and newsletters.


Only $100 per year.