Skip to main content

Iran bans travelers from four European countries

Governments around the Middle East are instituting restrictions aimed at mitigating the spread of the omicron variant of COVID-19.
This photo shows a Emirates Boeing 777 landing while an IranAir plane is taxiing at Dubai's International Airport, Sept. 14, 2017.

Iran’s national airline banned today travelers coming to Iran via four European countries. 

IranAir said it will not receive non-Iranian citizen passengers coming from the United Kingdom, France, Norway and Denmark, the official Islamic Republic News Agency reported. 

The ruling refers to travelers coming to Iran via the banned countries — not necessarily citizens of the countries. Iranian citizens are exempt from the decision. 

The United Kingdom, France and Denmark are all experiencing relatively high numbers of new COVID-19 cases as the contagious omicron variant spreads around the world. Denmark is averaging 2,200 cases per 1 million people, the United Kingdom is averaging 1,670 cases per million people and France is averaging 1,295 cases per million people, according to Our World in Data.

By comparison, Germany is averaging 272 cases per million people, while the United States is averaging 797 cases per million people. Interestingly, Norway is averaging only 614 cases per million people, according to the Oxford-based institution. 

Iran has been one of the hardest hit countries in the Middle East by the coronavirus, registering more than 6 million cases among its 80 million population, in addition to more than 130,000 deaths. Daily cases are trending downward in the country at present, however. Iran is currently averaging 1,900 cases a day, down from the high of more than 40,000 cases a day in August, according to data from Reuters. 

Iranian authorities have been encouraging people to take the vaccine in a bid to fight the virus. In October, the Islamic Republic imported millions of doses of China’s Sinopharm vaccine to this end. Authorities have also instituted lockdowns and travel bans throughout the pandemic. Travel from the United Kingdom was also banned for a period last year. 

Iran was recently in the process of removing travel restrictions. In September, the country’s tourism chief decided to lift some visa restrictions in a bid to boost the tourism industry. 

Several Middle Eastern states have instituted travel restrictions aimed at deterring the spread of omicron. Earlier travel bans targeted many African countries

Join hundreds of Middle East professionals with Al-Monitor PRO.

Business and policy professionals use PRO to monitor the regional economy and improve their reports, memos and presentations. Try it for free and cancel anytime.


The Middle East's Best Newsletters

Join over 50,000 readers who access our journalists dedicated newsletters, covering the top political, security, business and tech issues across the region each week.
Delivered straight to your inbox.


What's included:
Our Expertise

Free newsletters available:

  • The Takeaway & Week in Review
  • Middle East Minute (AM)
  • Daily Briefing (PM)
  • Business & Tech Briefing
  • Security Briefing
  • Gulf Briefing
  • Israel Briefing
  • Palestine Briefing
  • Turkey Briefing
  • Iraq Briefing

Premium Membership

Join the Middle East's most notable experts for premium memos, trend reports, live video Q&A, and intimate in-person events, each detailing exclusive insights on business and geopolitical trends shaping the region.

$25.00 / month
billed annually

Become Member Start with 1-week free trial

We also offer team plans. Please send an email to and we'll onboard your team.

What's included:
Our Expertise AI-driven

Memos - premium analytical writing: actionable insights on markets and geopolitics.

Live Video Q&A - Hear from our top journalists and regional experts.

Special Events - Intimate in-person events with business & political VIPs.

Trend Reports - Deep dive analysis on market updates.

All premium Industry Newsletters - Monitor the Middle East's most important industries. Prioritize your target industries for weekly review:

  • Capital Markets & Private Equity
  • Venture Capital & Startups
  • Green Energy
  • Supply Chain
  • Sustainable Development
  • Leading Edge Technology
  • Oil & Gas
  • Real Estate & Construction
  • Banking

Already a Member? Sign in

Start your PRO membership today.

Join the Middle East's top business and policy professionals to access exclusive PRO insights today.

Join Al-Monitor PRO Start with 1-week free trial