Skip to main content

US targets senior Iranian officials with new sanctions

Those sanctioned include Iran's interior and communications ministers.
A picture obtained by AFP outside Iran on Sept. 21, 2022, shows Iranian demonstrators taking to the streets of the capital Tehran during a protest for Mahsa Amini, days after she died in police custody.

The United States on Thursday imposed sanctions on seven senior Iranian leaders linked to the country’s violent suppression of nationwide protests and continued clampdown on internet access.

Those blacklisted by the Treasury Department include Iranian Communications Minister Eisa Zarepour, who it blamed for Iran’s digital crackdown, and Minister of the Interior Ahmad Vahidi, who has oversight of Iran’s Law Enforcement Forces (LEF). The LEF are to blame for “at least dozens of casualties in the recent demonstrations against the morality police," the department said.

Access the Middle East news and analysis you can trust

Join our community of Middle East readers to experience all of Al-Monitor, including 24/7 news, analyses, memos, reports and newsletters.


Only $100 per year.